Prescott named one of the best college observatories, strong finishes for flight teams and athletics, and more high points at Embry-Riddle.

Prescott Campus’ observatory was named No. 8 on’s list of the nation’s Top 35 Best College Astronomy Observatories.

The Daytona Beach Campus’ Men’s Basketball Head Coach Steve Ridder was named Sun Conference Coach of the Year. And, DeForest Carter (’15, DB) was named Sun Conference Men’s Basketball Player of the Year. The team had its best regular season in program history (35-2 overall).

The Daytona Beach Athletics program earned its 16th consecutive Sun Conference Commissioners Cup, recognizing the best overall program in the league.

The Prescott Golden Eagles flight team placed third overall and the Daytona Beach Eagles flight team tied for fifth at the National Intercollegiate Flying Association Safety and Flight Evaluation Conference.

Prescott Campus’ Phi Beta Lambda (PBL) Business Club earned 61 first-place awards at the 2015 PBL Arizona Leadership Conference, outpacing its nearest competitor by 46 first-place awards. This is the ninth consecutive year the club has dominated the competition.

The 2015 PayScale College ROI Report ranked Embry-Riddle’s Prescott Campus No. 1 in Arizona and the Daytona Beach Campus No. 2 in Florida for best return on investment for graduates.

Ellie Staker (’14, DB) won the individual NAIA Indoor Track and Field National Championship – 800 meter run.

Chief Academic Officer for Embry-Riddle’s Worldwide Campus Brad Sims was named Chancellor of the Worldwide Campus, effective February 2015.

Professor William Engblom and a research team from the Daytona Beach Campus’ College of Engineering were awarded a $100,000 Phase I NASA Innovative Advanced Concepts grant to develop an unmanned aircraft system that will operate in Earth’s stratosphere.

Daytona Beach student-athletes Zac Grotz and Tyler Cyr were drafted by the Houston Astros and the San Francisco Giants, respectively, during the 2015 Major League Baseball Draft.

Embry-Riddle and the Alliance for System Safety of UAS through Research Excellence were selected by the Federal Aviation Administration as the nation’s new Center of Excellence in Unmanned Aircraft Systems.